First Day in Tucson, Arizona

Hey so this is exciting, They are letting me write you an email on my first day in the field! YAY! So yesterday we flew out of Salt Lake and got into Tucson around noonish. We went and checked out the mormon battalion which was pretty cool and learned a little bit about our legacy as missionaries and hastening on the work. One of the things I heard someone say – ‘the work is going forth, and I am going with it!’ After we spent the afternoon at the stake center training, eating, and setting up our ipads and then spent the night at the mission home.

IMG_0004 (1)
My new Tucson, AZ buds: The new missionaries and our trainers

Today we finally met our trainers!! Sister Smith is training me and I will be in the Casas Adobes area which is North Tucson. She seems pretty cool so far. She likes sports, played the flute for 9 years, and is from Washington. The first thing she asked me was if I had food allergies or was a vegetarian and I said no.  Her next question was “so do you just like food?” I said yes. She said “awesome we’ll get along great!” hahaha. We live in a small apartment, but its nice. I get my own dresser and small closet so its pretty great! 

I am pretty excited to get started! All I have done so far is unpack but once I’m done emailing we are headed out to meet with an investigator. Also, as part of the first week challenge I have to invite someone to baptism this week. Sweeet…. hahaha jk really though I’m excited. This is what I have been looking forward to and learning how to do for 12 days in the MTC! My experience at the MTC was great and I will never forget it. I learned so much from the insights and testimonies of my district and my teachers. One of the coolest parts of the week was the night we all said goodbye to each other. The sisters all asked one of the elders for a blessing and we were each able to receive a blessing for peace and comfort as we head out to our different missions. IT HELPED. no kidding. when I walked into the room to get my blessing the spirit was so strong I felt like I got hit by a ton of bricks. And Elder Epperson gave me such a powerful blessing and I felt so much love from my heavenly father that I knew I could do this and that I would be okay. 

Thanks for all the love and support from home!! The letters and packages make me so happy and I love and miss you all!!  These are some quotes I sent to Davette and wanted to share.

IMG_0011
Valentine care package from my mommy

“It is true intelligence for a man to take a subject that is mysterious and great in itself, and to unfold and simplify it so that a child can understand it.”- John taylor

“I would that ye should remember, that as much as ye shall put your trust in God even so much ye shall be delivered out of your trials, and your troublse, and your afflictions, and ye shall be lifted up at the last day.” Alma 38:5

I hope you enjoy these quotes! I like the first one because that is what I have been learning to do at the MTC! and the second has always been a favorite because I am constantly trusting in the Lord to help me through my struggles! another one I really like is Ether 12:4, look it up sometime:) Love you – Sister Packer

IMG_0010
1st beautiful sunset in Tucson, AZ

An Email From President and Sister Passey the day Jessica Arrived at the Mission Home in Tucson:

Dear Brother & Sister Packer;

It was a very special experience to personally greet your daughter, Sister Jessica Lisa Packer, at the airport upon her arrival in Tucson.  We were impressed by her great spirit and desire to serve.  We are grateful to have her serving here with us.

From the airport we took her and the other missionaries to the Mormon Battalion Monument in downtown Tucson, where we talked about commitment, and leaving behind all the cares of the world to focus on the work of the Lord.  After a brief stop at the mission office to meet the office staff, we went to the mission home, where our Elders and Sisters received instruction and training from the Assistants to the President, Sister Killpack and myself.  I had the pleasure of interviewing your daughter and getting to know her personally and to feel her wonderful missionary spirit.  Later that evening we dined together, took photographs and took the opportunity to discuss our purpose as missionaries.

Sister Packer has been assigned to the North West Zone, located in Tucson Arizona with Sister Smith as her companion.  As you write to your daughter, please encourage her to continue to serve faithfully, being completely obedient throughout her mission.  We know that she, and the Tucson Mission, will be in your prayers.  We also know that the coming months will bring many blessings into your lives by your daughter’s faithful service and the sacrifice you are making for her to serve the Lord and her fellow men.  Thank you very much for having prepared your daughter to withstand the rigors of missionary life and now to be serving with us here.

May the Lord bless you.  We send our love and appreciation.

President David G. & Sister Beth Passey                

Tucson, Arizona Mission 

packer
First Day in Tucson, Arizona with my mission president, Pres. Passey and his wife, Sister Passey
Leave a Reply

