SACRAMENT MEETING WAS LIT!

YO FAM. LAST SUNDAY I GAVE MY TALK IN SACRAMENT MEETING ABOUT COMMITMENT. Not gonna lie I didn’t know what to talk about at first, I have a hard time writing talks, it’s a curse. I did want to share a couple of things I found that I shared on Sunday. The first is a story by an Italian opera singer and it basically summarizes the focus of my talk.

“When I was a boy, my father, a baker, introduced me to the wonders of song,” “He urged me to work very hard to develop my voice. A professional tenor in my hometown of Modena, Italy, took me as a pupil. I also enrolled in a teachers college. On graduating, I asked my father, ‘Shall I be a teacher or a singer?’ “‘Luciano,’ my father replied, ‘if you try to sit on two chairs, you will fall between them. For life, you must choose one chair.’ “I chose one. It took seven years of study and frustration before I made my first professional appearance. It took another seven to reach the Metropolitan Opera. And now I think whether it’s laying bricks, writing a book–whatever we choose–we should give ourselves to it. Commitment, that’s the key. Choose one chair.”

I was actually really glad I got to speak on commitment after reading and praying about it. It is going to be such a huge part of my mission. I have to be committed to serving my mission with all my heart. And I could not be more excited to serve the people of Tucson Arizona. I am so excited to share the message of Christ and teach people about how much he loves them. Plus, the weather will be a nice change haha:) So peace out Idaho Falls for a while, love you all and see you in 18 months!

Sister Jessica Packer

 

Leave a Reply

